Empowering the Youth Through Sports

The Laoag city government, in coordination with the Department of Education, launched its fourth annual Inter-School Sports Tournament on August 29, 2015 at the city basketball court. According to Mr. Hipolito Salva, Sports Coordinator of Laoag City, this activity aims early selection of students for sports competition, those who will represent Laoag City in the upcoming Palarong Pamasko this October, and those who will compete in the Region 1 Athletic Association Meet. Aside from youth empowerment in the city, it strengthens the camaraderie among the youth, and establishes a strong sense of sportsmanship. Mr. Salva added that it is the best time to scout and discover younger generation of players who have a strong passion for sports and have the necessary skills.

The sports tournament is participated in by the different schools in the city, both public and private, 39 from elementary and 13 secondary level. Here is the complete list of schools who participated in the said event:




  1. Apaya Elementary School
  2. Balacad Elementary School
  3. Balatong Elementary School
  4. Buttong Elementary School
  5. Cabeza Elementary School
  6. Calayab Elementary School
  7. Cavit-Araniw Elementary Schoo;L
  8. Gabu Elementary School
  9. Laoag Central Elementary School
  10. Tangid Elementary School


  1. AP Santos Elementary School
  3. Caaoacan Elementary School
  4. Casili Elementary School
  5. Cataban Elementary School
  6. DGRM Elementary School
  7. EF Siazon Elementary School
  8. Navotas Elementary School
  9. Pila Elementary School
  10. Shamrock Elementary School
  11. Sta. Maria Elementary School
  12. Suyo Elementary School
  13. Sto. Niño Primary School


  1. Bacsil Elementary School
  2. Barit Elementary School
  3. Vira Elementary School
  4. F Reyes Elementary School
  5. Gabaldon Elementary School
  6. Lagui-Sail Elementary School
  7. Plaridel Elementary School
  8. Rb Ablan Elementary School
  9. Salet Elementary School
  10. San Mateo Elementary School


  1. Ilocos Norte Adventist School
  2. ISALA
  3. HSAL
  4. Padre Annibale
  5. Saviour’s Academy
  6. DWCL
  7. Caterpillar


  1. INNHS
  2. INCAT
  3. Gabu NHS
  4. INRSF
  5. Balatong IS
  6. NWU
  7. NCC
  8. St. Joseph HS
  9. HSAL
  10. ISALA
  11. Padre Annibale
  12. Saviour’s Academy
  13. DWCL


This tournament includes the following sports and the respective venues they are held: Basketball-Laoag City Hall basketball court, Table Tennis – Laoag Central School, Swimming -Marcos Stadium, Badminton – Padre Annibale School, Chess – DepEd Social Hall, and Athletics, both Running and Throwing events – Marcos Stadium.



The games were officially declared open with a ceremony led by City Mayor Chevylle V. Fariñas, with the participation of school players, teachers and coaches. The events happen simultaneously every weekend starting at 8:00 in the morning until 5:00 in the afternoon. It will run until the end of October. Mr. Hipolito Salva is inviting everyone to support this activity.

You may also like...