11th Maria Y. Orosa Celebration

Laoag City would always recognize the contributions of the rural homemakers (RIC) and rural youths (4H Clubs) in the development of the agriculture sector and what a better way of doing it by commemorating the birthday of the founder of these two important organizations under the supervision of the City Agriculturist’s Office.

Rural homemakers and rural youth activities in the barangays, such as meat and fish processing demonstrations, plant propagation trainings and backyard vegetable production culminate every 29th of November during the celebration of Maria Y. Orosa Day.


This year’s celebration was conducted last December 5, 2016 and included the following: Folk Dance, OPM Vocal Solo and Tindahan ni Nanay Contests. The Tindahan ni nanay served as a display center of vegetable and fishing products, handicrafts and processed meats which were all contributed by the different RIC Brgy. Chapters. All products were for sale and the RIC Chapter who had the highest sale was the winner. The criteria also included the façade of RIC Cluster booths. Rural homemakers and youths are not only good in preparing low cost nutritious food but also possess other talents which were all shown in the folkdance and OPM Vocal Solo contests.


The Maria Y. Orosa celebration was participated in by the 56-RIC Barangay Chapters and 4H Federation. The Chairman of the Board of Judges, Folk Dance Competition, announced that winners will perform again come 2017 Pamulinawen Festival, NGO Night. Cash prizes of the winners came from the Laoag City Government and consolation prizes of the non winning contestants came from the FELARIC coffers.


1ST Place                               –              Gabu Norte B RIC

2nd Place                              –              Rioeng RIC

3rd Place                               –              Suyo RIC

OPM VOCAL SOLO          

1ST Place                               –              Brgy. 2 – Ms. Christy Ganot

2nd Place                              –              Calayab  – Ms. Margie Laginero

3rd Place                               –              Balcad – Ms. Mhay Reynon


1ST Place             –              Cluster 3 – Pila, Casili, Suyo, Sta. Maria, Talingaan,

Brgy. 1, Brgy. 2, and Brgy. 33-B

2nd Place            –              Cluster 1 – Bacsil N  & S, Lataag, San mateo, Rioeng,

#29, Camangaan, Caaoacan

3rd Place            –               Cluster 4 – Navotas A & B, Cataban, Madiladig,

Dibua N & S, #34-A


Computer Programmer, I.T. Division - City Mayor's Office

You may also like...