Laoag City hosts 2017 Palarong Pamasko and Inter-Office Tournament

The Laoag City government recently launched the Palarong Pamasko 2017 and the Inter-Office Tournament at the Aurora Park on October 23, 2017.

This year’s games include 73 participating barangays clustered into 62 teams, 10 Agency teams, 21 Tricycle TODA teams, and 6 Inter-Office teams. The barangays, tricycle associations, and agencies will be competing in basketball and volleyball games while the Inter-Office Tournament includes table tennis and badminton games aside from the two aforementioned games.

Unfortunately, the games will be played in different venues as the city basketball court is undergoing major rehabilitation for its conversion into an air-conditioned multi-purpose hall. The barangay and tricycle TODA games will be played at the Ilocos Norte National High School covered court while the agencies and inter-office games will be distributed among the barangays of Laoag City which have presentable covered courts.

In the opening parade, all the participating teams were properly represented including their muses. Laoag City Mayor Chevylle V. Fariñas led the City Mayor’s Office team, including some department heads who led their respective offices. On the one hand, ABC President Mikee V. Fariñas thanked all those present and those who are supporting the Palaro, emphasizing the significance of sports in one’s life. On the other hand, City Administrator Jamie V. Fariñas underscored teamwork in the games, that it is not the result that is important but the way the contest was done. He declared the games open afterwards.

The traditional Search for Miss Palarong Pamasko 2017 immediately ensued, including the Search for Miss Mujeres Palaro 2017. Ms. Princess Jerinne Aquino of Barangay 22, Ermita was adjudged as Miss Palaro 2017 while Barbie Dancel was crowned Ms. Mujeres Palaro 2017.

You may also like...